Guio de Morais e Seu Conjunto – Gente Que diz de Balanco (1964)

Continental PPL 12131

I thought that it would be a good idea to complete Guio de Morais discography with the album from 1964 which was originally presented on Loronix ten years ago.
Well, here it is in form of a Loronix transfer. Zeca‘s text about it you may read on Órfãos do Loronix where it is reprinted.

The compositions are:

01. Só Vou de Balanço (João Roberto Kelly)
02. Gente Que Diz (Guio de Morais)
03. Balanço Zona Sul (Tito Madi)
04. Ela É Carioca (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
05. O Samba Deu Um Avanço (Célio Ferreira / Rolando Ferreira)
06. Samb’andando (Sérgio Carvalho / Paulo Bruce)
07. Tudo de Você (Paulo Sérgio Valle / Marcos Valle)
08. Quem Sabe É o Mar (Paulinho / Barbosa da Silva)
09. Samba Travesso (Norival Reis / Harli Teixeira)
10. Tão Só (Guio de Morais)
11. Carnaval Triste (Sérgio Carvalho / Paulo Bruce)
12. Barraco do José (Carlos Fortes)


Créditos: Zecalouro / Edson Mendes

TRACK LIST by Brazilliance:
Although being a really enjoyable album offering groovy performances, I find it quite mysterious because the track list is wrong wherever it appears online wether as download or listing. Interstingly, only very few remarks on this can be found like in the comments on Órfãos do Loronix

Unfortunately, the original vinyl or its original art work is hardly available which would be the best way to check. I never saw this album being offered on Mercado Livre or elsewhere which made me wonder if it ever existed. Surprisingly, a Japanese seller is currently showing a sold vinyl copy on his website but regrettably not showing pictures of the back cover or the vinyl itself. The picture of the front cover shows clearly a different order of song titles compared to the CD reissue, starting with Tudo de Você instead of Só Vou de Balanço. Also, the Continental logo on the original art work is a different version including the catalogue number PPL 12.131 which is missing on the CD reissue.

Obviously, the wrong track list including a song from a different album by a different group was created by sloppy work at the re-releasing label Paradise Masters:

01 – Só Vou de Balanço = Gente que diz
02 – Gente que diz = Balanço Zona Sul
03 – Balanço Zona Sul = Ela é Carioca
04 – Ela é Carioca = O Samba deu um Avanço
05 – O Samba deu um Avanço = Sambandando
06 – Samb’andando = Tudo de Você
07 – Tudo de Você = Quem Sabe é O Mar
08 – Quem Sabe é O Mar = Samba Travesso
09 – Samba Travesso = Tão Só
10 – Tão Só = Carnaval Triste
11 – Carnaval Triste = Barraco do José
12 – Barraco do José = Influência do Jazz from “Show de Bossa” by Corisco e Os Sambaloucos.

Which means “Só Vou de Balanço” is actually missing which is a pity since it’s a great tune.

At least, one thing is for sure: the flawless saxophone on Gente Que Diz de Balanço is by Moacyr Marques aka Bijú (as stated on his website.

Todamérica LPP-TA-15

The last missing album (a 10′) from the Guio de Morais altogether four releases by Todamérica has just arrived this morning thanks to Edson Mendes.

Djalma Sobrinho has written a very informative text about Guio’s life, career and music which I strongly recommend reading.

The musicians:

Macaxeira (trombone)
Brito (pistão)
Paulinho (clarinete)
Bijou (sax-tenor)
Dimas (bateria)
Vidal (baixo)
Pedro (pandeiro)
Guio de Moraes (piano)

The compositions:

01. Stranger in Paradise  (Robert Wright / George Forrest)
02. Cururú (F. Godoy)
03. Johnny come home (Walter Goehr / Ronald Millar)
04. Travesso (Ernesto Nazareth)
05. One Hour with you (R. A. Whiting / Leo Robin)
Yes, sir, that’s my baby  (G. Kahn / W. Donaldson)
06. Sem exagêros (F. Godoy)
07. Temptation (Nacio Herb Brown / Arthur Freed)
08. Ameno resedá (Ernesto Nazareth)


Créditos: Edson Mendes

Guio de Morais e Sua Orquestra de Cordas – Devaneio (1958)

Todamérica LPP-TA-313

This is Guio de Morais‘ last album recorded for Todamérica. Six years later he released one more career album for Continental which has been presented on Loronix quite some time ago.

The compositions performed here are:

01. To Love You (I Only Live To Love You) (Victor Young / Mack Gordon)
02. Dancing In The Dark (Howard Dietz / Arthur Schwartz)
03. Friendly Persuasion (Paul Francis Webster / Dimitri Tiomkin)
04. The Mountain (M. David / D. Amfitheatrof)
05. If You Can Dream (Sammy Cahn / Nicholas Brodszky)
06. Written On The Wind (Sammy Cahn / Victor Young)
07. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing (Paul Francis Webster / Sammy Fain)
08. Around The World (Victor Young / Harold Adamson)
09. The Lonely Man (Nathan Van Cleave / Jack Brooks)
An Affair To Remember (Harry Warren / Harold Adamson / Leo McCarey)
Love Letters In The Sand (J. F. Coots / N. Kenny / C. Kenny)
White Christmas (Irving Berlin)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos  

Guio de Morais e Sua Orquestra de Jazz e Cordas – Vesperal Dancante (1958)

Todamérica LPP-TA-321

Maestro Guio de Morais has been presented in this parallel reality with his first career album, a 10′ Lp dedicated to Brazilian folklore around one and a half year ago.

Here he is again with a 12′ para dançar album from 1958, performing these compositions:

01. Maria Dos Meus Pecados (Jair Amorim / Valdemar de Abreu “Dunga”)
02. O Apito no Samba (Luis Antônio / Luiz Bandeira)
03. Trem Paulista (Antônio Almeida / Felícia Godoy)
04. I’m Always Chasing Rain Bows (J. McCarthy / H. Carrol)
05. Louco de Amor (Norival Reis)
06. The Melba Waltz (N. Newell / M. Spoliansky)
07. April Love (Paul Francis Webster / Sammy Fain)
08. Never Let Me Go (Jay Livingston / Ray Evans)
09. Whispering (Vincent Rose / Richard Coburn / John Schonberger)
10. Se Você Soubesse (Valmurio)
11. Mambologia (Bolivar Duarte)
12. Fantasia Carioca (Osvaldo Santiago / Alcyr Pires Vermelho)

The back cover displays a short text about Guio de Morais as well as his photograph…


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos  

Sambas & Baioes com Guio de Morais e sua Orquestra (1956)

Todamérica LPP-TA-8

Guio de Morais, arranger, maestro and composer’s first (out of 5) career album, a 10′ with traditional Brazilian folklore songs arranged by Antônio Almeida and F. Godoy:

Enjoy Guio‘s debut on Parallel Realities:

1. Meu Limão, Meu Limoeiro (Trad. / Adpt. José Carlos Burle) Cururu
Terezinha de Jesus Samba
2. Prenda Minha Baião
3. Se Essa Rua Fosse Minha Samba
4. No meu tempo de criança:
Escravos de Jó Samba
Carneirinho, Carneirão Samba
Ó Senhora Viúva Samba
Ó Filomena Samba
Rosa Amarela Baião
5. Casinha Pequenina Samba
6. Rapsódia mineira:
Oh! Minas Gerais (Vieni Sul Mar) Samba
Peixe Vivo Samba
Samba Lelê Baião
7. Atirei O Pau No Gato Samba
8. Mulher Rendeira Baião
O Meu Boi Morreu Baião


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos