Luizinho e Seu Conjunto – Tarde Dancante (1957)

Columbia LPCB 35047

Piano player Luisinho‘s 10’ album Tarde Dançante, which was quite rightfully on my list finally arrived, thanks to Santa Claus, via his helpers Pedro & 300discos into my inbox from where it was transferred straight into the Luisinho folder, opened and am enjoying it as I write.

The compositions are:

1. Espinita (Nico Jimenez)
2. Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa / Vadico)
3. Who (Jerome Kern / Oscar Hammerstein II / Otto Harbach)
4. Maringá (Joubert de Carvalho)
5. Domani (U. Minucci / T. Velona)
6. Descança a Cabeça (Santos Garcia)
7. Somebody Stole My Gal (L. Woods)
8. Refúgio (Nazareno de Brito / Newton Ramalho)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos 

Um Baile Com Luizinho e Seu Conjunto – 10 Inch Lp (1957)

Columbia LPCB 35037

This album by the still mysterious piano player Luizinho was already presented in this parallel reality in form of it’s second (12′) edition with 4 additional compositions which were previously released on 78 rpm albums.

As you might have expected, this, original 10′ version consists of 8 compositions:

1. Canção do Mar (Ferrer Trindade / Frederico Brito) Fado Fox
2. Peguei Um Ita No Norte (Dorival Caymmi) Fox
3. Xótis Do Netinho (Ângelo Apolônio ”Poly” / Victor Dagô) Chótis
4. Assobiador Preguiçoso (The Lazy Whistler) (H. Biddy / H. Hollanger) Fox
5. La Goualante Du Pauvre Jean (Marguerite Monnot / René Rouzaud) Fox
6. Biruta (Castro Perret / Amado Régis) Fox
7. Vivo a Chorar (Porfírio Damasceno) Fox
8. Lisboa Antiga (Raul Portela / Amadeu do Vale / José Galhardo) Fox


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Luizinho e Seu Conjunto – Um Baile Com Luizinho (1958)

Columbia LPCB 37015

The newest package sent to us by Pedro & 300discos contains several ultra goodies, making it extremely difficult to choose which album to post as first. I narrowed the candidates down to two, as both are on my Santa Claus list. Then by recording date.

Luizinho (whoever he might be) and his conjunto on a re-edition of their 10′ LP released in 1957, with four additional tracks, recorded especially for this album: Cha-Hua-Hua and Conselho which were previously released as 78 rpms and Mambo do Galinho and Graças a Deus.

The back cover displays a long text by Ricardo Macedo about famous Luizinho, his music, the songs played, but Ricardo takes it for granted that the reader knows exactly who Luizinho is, probably because it is a name very, very rare in Brazil, almost as rare as Zezinho

So, still no explicit proof about Luizinho‘s identity, which should not spoil your pleasure listening (or dancing) to these songs:

01. Canção do Mar (Ferrer Trindade / Frederico Brito)
02. Peguei Um Ita No Norte (Dorival Caymmi)
03. Cha-Hua-Hua (Joe Lubin / Irving Roth)
04. Mambo do Galinho (Betinho / Nazareno de Brito)
05. Xótis Do Netinho (Ângelo Apolônio ”Poly” / Victor Dagô)
06. Assobiador Preguiçoso (The Lazy Whistler) (H. Biddy / H. Hollanger)
07. La Goualante Du Pauvre Jean (Marguerite Monnot / René Rouzaud)
08. Biruta (Castro Perret / Amado Régis)
09. Conselho (Denis Brean / Osvaldo Guilherme)
10. Graças A Deus (Fernando César)
11. Vivo a Chorar (Porfírio Damasceno)
12. Lisboa Antiga (Raul Portela / Amadeu do Vale / José Galhardo)

Although the cover shows unmistakeable traces that it has been lying in a damp place and the cardboard got damaged by water, the vinyl itself sounds like it was just printed: No scratches, no noise, absolutely clear and fresh:

MINT New link with the complete cover included

or just the COMPLETE COVER

Créditos: Pedro & 300discos + Complete cover: Edson Mendes

Well almost sure that can be Luiz Schiavo. 05. Xótis Do Netinho (Ângelo ApolônioPoly”). Luiz Eça is certainly not.

COMPLETE COVER by Edson Mendes:
I found a new one on the Net and worked a little to improve it.

Luizinho e Seu Conjunto – Alegria (N/D)

Entré/CBS 4004

An unlisted rarity! Luis Eça‘s album recorded at an unknown date under the nom de guerre of Luizinho, was the absolute “Play it again, Milan” hit of last Saturday’s music fans reunion at my place.

I hope you will enjoy these tracks as much as we did: 

01. Que Murmuren (Rubén Fuentes / Rafael Cardenas)
02. Mente (Fernando César)
03. Por Causa de Você (Tom Jobim / Dolores Duran)
04. Graças A Deus (Fernando César)
05. Mambo do Galinho (Betinho / Nazareno de Brito)
06. Cha-Hua-Hua (Joe Lubin / Irving Roth)
07. Ouça (Maysa)
08. Meu Mundo Caiu (Maysa)
09. Se Um Dia (Heleno Mário de Castro)
10. Mocinho Bonito (Billy Blanco)
11. It’s Not For Me To Say (Al Stillman / Robert Allen)
12. An Affair To Remember (Harry Warren / Harold Adamson / Leo McCarey)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

EDIT: I just found out that this album is a “greatest hits” collection by Luis Eça alias Luizinho + his conjunto

Luis Eça never recorded in São Paulo
This Piano player i belive that can be Luis Schiavo, on the guitar is Angelo Apolonio (Poli).

Some serious websites lists Luizinho‘s Sambas de Saudade album as by Luis Eça, but they don`t mention the other Columbia Luizinho albums, other Eça discographies even did not list Sambas de Saudade. On the cover of the Luizinho album Sucessos do Momento the piano player does not look like Eça, but it is not sure, that this is a picture of the real artist. I never heard of Luis Schiavo, that is a real mystery.

I try to contact Nelson Ayres, he was a student of Luiz Schiavo the piano player of this time I know is Luis Schiavo.
This 2 Label of Luizinho is same piano player
Luis Eça is very much modern with Harmonies and Style
Others pianist with name LUIZINHO, Luis Mello and Luis Loy, but style totally different.
Luis Schiavo was piano player of the Theaters (cinemas) in São Paulo. Poli is on the guitar SURE.
About Angelo Apolonio o Poli:
Great Guitar Player record several lps in 50, 60, 70
Poli e seu Conjunto:
Carlinhos Mafasoli – Acordeon
Mario Casali – Piano
Luiz Schiavo – Orgão

Luizinho e Seu Piano – Sambas da Saudade (1956)

Columbia LPCB 35019

To immediately reveal the identity of the mysterious Luizinho:
Luizinho is the famous piano player Luis Eça, who is, surprisingly, called just Luizinho on five albums recorded during the period from 1956 to 1958. Four of these albums are, surprisingly, on my Santa Claus list, while this one is not due to the fact that I have not been aware of it’s existence until I, surprisingly, fished it out as first from the just arriving package sent by Pedro & 300discos.

Enjoy Luizinho‘s piano accompanied by conjunto and choir performing the sambas:

1. É Bom Parar (Rubens Soares / Noel Rosa) Samba
2. Morreu o Meu Primeiro Amor (Haroldo Lobo / Milton de Oliveira) Samba
3. Foi Ela (Ary Barroso) Samba
4. A Infelicidade Me Persegue (Assis Valente) Samba
5. A Coroa do Rei (Haroldo Lobo / David Nasser) Samba
6. A Primeira Mulher (Arnô Canegal / A. Espírito Santo / Albertina Da Rocha) Samba
7. Enlouqueci (Luis Soberano / Waldomiro Pereira / João Sales) Samba
8. Me Queimei (Antônio Nássara / Valfrido Silva) Samba


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos