Elza Laranjeira – A Musica de Jobim e Vinicius (1963)


01. Só Danço Samba (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
02. Samba do Avião (Tom Jobim)
03. Sem Você (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
04. Corcovado (Tom Jobim)
05. O Amor Em Paz (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
06. Por Toda A Minha Vida (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
07. Canção Em Modo Menor (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
08. Serenata do Adeus (Vinicius de Moraes)
09. Derradeira Primavera (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
10. Valsa do Amor de Nós Dois (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
11. Andam Dizendo (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
12. Canta, Canta Mais (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)


Créditos: ?

REVIEW by Brazilliance:

One of the finest singers of her time and one of the finest albums of the era – a master’s class of immaculate beauty and perfection.

Such a pity that this was also Elza’s final solo effort. However, she certainly ended her career with a bang since this is a landmark album showing her at the height of her refined artistry backed by exquisite arrangements by Waldemiro Lemke, Erlon Chaves and Ruben Perez ‘Pocho’.

Besides, this album is noteworthy for introducing four songs by Jobim/Moraes on record:

The iconic “Só Danço Samba” and “Samba do Avião”, released on single in October 1962 before included on this album, were introduced in August 1962 by Antônio Carlos Jobim, Os Cariocas and João Gilberto in the historical concert series later bootlegged as “O Encontro au ‘Bon Gourmet’” before featured in the movie Copacabana Palace in November 1962, thus after Elza’s release.

In addition, this album features the first recordings of “Canção em Modo Menor” and “Andam Dizendo” and the first and only recording of “Valsa do Amor de Nós Dois”.

Sinfonia do Rio de Janeiro (1954)

Continental LPA 1000

The symphony of Rio de Janeiro, composed by Billy Blanco and Antonio Carlos Jobim:

Lado A (Acompanhamento – Radamés Gnattali e Sua Orquestra):

1. A Montanhao Solo Mar (Sinfonia Popular Em Tempo de Samba) (Billy Blanco / Tom Jobim) Nora Ney / Lúcio Alves / Os Cariocas / Gilberto Milfont / Emilinha Borba / Dick Farney / Dóris Monteiro / Jorge Goulart / Elizeth Cardoso

Lado B:

2. Arpoador (Tom Jobim / Billy Blanco) Quinteto Continental            
3. Noites do Rio (Tom Jobim / Billy Blanco) Quinteto Continental            
4. O Samba de Amanhã (Tom Jobim / Billy Blanco) Quinteto Continental            
5. Hino ao Sol (Tom Jobim / Billy Blanco) Quinteto Continental            
6. Descendo O Morro (Billy Blanco / Tom Jobim) Quinteto Continental 

Details about this release and various later versions of it you may read on Órfãos do Loronix where Zecalouro’s text about it all is reprinted.


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

ABOUT ALL VERSIONS by Brazilliance:
Being Jobim’s first orchestral effort, this is a recording of historic importance. However, while the second recording from 1960, again with Gnattali but different vocalists, is just as popular as the debut, the third recording seems less known: in 1961, the Sinfonia was the soundtrack for Esse Rio Que Eu Amo featuring Lana Bittencourt and Haroldo de Almeida on lead vocals, arranged and directed by Lyrio Panicali. All three versions are compiled for comparison HERE, featuring Os Cariocas as the only act to be included on all three recordings of the Sinfonia do Rio de Janeiro.

Interprete Nao Identificado – As Melhores Mulheres (1957)

Odeon MOCB 3006

Now a mystery that traces back to the middle of the previous century and still puzzles the police as well as the audience: A para dançar album dedicated to ladies of various names, sung by singer or singers unidentified…
All that is known is that the arrangements are by Tom Jobim and Orlando Silveira.

If you know more about those who committed the vocals, you are strongly advised to forward your knowledge to the nearest police station.

If you don’t have any indices who the mysterious singer / singers might be, just relax, enjoy and / or dance to:

01. Maria (Ary Barroso / Luis Peixoto)
02. Helena, Helena (Antônio Almeida / Constantino Silva “Secundino”)
03. Aurora (Roberto Roberti / Mário Lago)
04. Zazá (Joel de Almeida)
05. Rosa Morena (Dorival Caymmi)
06. Emília (Wilson Batista / Haroldo Lobo)
07. Marina (Dorival Caymmi)
08. Dolores (Alberto Ribeiro / Marino Pinto / Arlindo Marques Júnior)
09. Ai Que Saudades da Amélia (Ataulfo Alves / Mário Lago)
10. Madalena (Ari Macedo / Airton Amorim)
11. Juraci (Antônio Almeida / Ciro de Souza)
12. Um Nome de Mulher (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos


This “unknown singer” is Aloysio de Oliveira, which was the leader of the “Bando da Lua” group (that accompanied Carmen Miranda in USA) and the owner of Elenco label, specialized in Bossa Nova records.
At the time of the release of this LP Aloysio was the director of Odeon – maybe this explains why he is not identified as the singer (in this and other records).

OBSERVATION by Andreas Dünnewald

Besides its beautiful art work, this album is identical with DANÇANDO COM AS GAROTAS by Os Guanabara Boys which features the same recordings in different order:

Memoria Musical / Toque

Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes – Brasilia – Sinfonia da Alvorada (1961)

Columbia LPCB 33001

1983 Reissue of the album from 1961. Orquestra Sinfônica directed by Tom Jobim, poetry by Vinicius de Moraes, Choir Dante Martinez under direction of Roberto de Regina
All about it you may read inside Zeca‘s text on Órfãos do Loronix.

Here is the music and poetry:

1. Brasília – Sinfonia da Alvorada (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes):
      1. O planalto deserto
      2. O homem
      3. A chegada dos candangos

2. Brasília – Sinfonia da Alvorada (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes):
      4. O trabalho e a construção
      5. Coral


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos