Festival de Jazz – 2o Grande Concerto (1957)

Sinter SLP 170

A live recording from the Golden Room of the Copacabana Palace Hotel on the  26th of November, 1956.

Get a glass of bourbon on the rocks and travel back in time with:

01. Atonal (Hélio Marinho) Hélio Marinho e Sua Orquestra
02. Samba Que Eu Quero Ver (Djalma Ferreira) Clélio e Seu Conjunto
03. Tenderly (Walter Gross / Jack Lawrence) Conjunto de K-Ximbinho com vocal de Julie Joy
04. But Not For Me (George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin) Julio Barbosa e Seu Conjunto
05. In Walked Bud (Thelonious Monk) Kuntz e Seu Conjunto
06. I Know That You Know (Vincent Youmans) Cipó e Seu Conjunto 
07. Tema Para Dois (Orlando Costa ”Maestro Cipó”) Cipó e Seu Conjunto
08. Kachintema (K-Ximbinho) K-Ximbinho e Seu Conjunto
09. How High The Moon (Morgan Lewis / Nancy Hamilton) Kuntz e Seu Conjunto
10. Jacques D’Iraque (Jerry Bock / George David Weiss) Orquestra de Cipó com vocal do Conjunto Farroupilha
11. Bop-ciponato (Orlando Costa ”Maestro Cipó”) Cipó e Seu Conjunto


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Julie Joy – Verão Em Veneza / Finge Gostar 78 Rpm (1956)

Sinter – 493 (2013 – a parallel reality)

Travel through time and parallel realities, once mastered, becomes a routine, but occasionally surprises are to be expected.
One of such surprises happened during a trip to find a rare 78 rpm by Julie Joy, which was originally published by Sinter in 1956 and numbered 493.

Standing on a street in the residential quarter of Kandahar and looking upon a public clock made me aware that, instead of the expected year 1956 it was clearly displayed that the year is 2013.

A few steps away from the clock, squeezed between a sweets shop and an opium smoker’s den, was a small record shop with a Brazilian flag above the entrance and a sign ALAMOS RECORDS.

The shop was full of vinyl albums, mostly compilations of rare Brazilian tracks, re-issued, as the owner, an elderly gentleman with a strong Portuguese accent, explained, during the last decade.

As if he knew what I was looking for, he pulled out an album and said that it is a re-edition of the original Sinter 78 rpm from 1956, remastered using the newest military technology and re-printed as a 78 rpm. It was wrapped in a transparent plastic sleeve with a portrait of Julie Joy printed on the plastic.

That was it. I left the shop with this recording in my hands asking just one question more:

Who gets the credits for this nice surprise?

A. Verão Em Veneza (Summertime In Venice) (Icini /    C. Sigman /    Vrs. Ribeiro Filho)
B. Finge Gostar (Chico Anysio /    Jaime Florence “Meira”)


Créditos: Recruta

Joias de Julie Joy (1958)

Сolumbia LРСВ 37009

Julie Joy was presented a long time ago on our friend Simon Boutmans‘s Unbreakable Microgrooves blog, which Simon unfortunately closed for reasons unclear to me. Since then her only career album remained unavailable to all who have not downloaded it while it lasted.

Needless to stress that I strongly hope that Simon will return to us all once more with his rare music and competent informations.

Inside the newest package sent by Pedro & 300 discos I found this album again (in form of a Pedro transfer and cover scans), so all who have missed it have one opportunity more to download it.

The tracks Julie is singing accompanied by Renato de Oliveira e Sua Orquestra are:

01. Podes Voltar (Nazareno de Brito / Othon Russo)
02. Até Que… (Till) (Сarl Sigman / Сharles Danvers / Vrs. Osvaldo Santiago)
03. Prisioneira (Nazareno de Вrito)
04. Adeus Palavra Sentida (Odilon Noronha)
05. Tarde Demais (Athayde Julio)
06. Sombras (Truly) (A. Lavello / J. Merсer / Vrs. Airereрe)
07. Era Mentira (Nelson Gomes / Moacir Vieira)
08. E a Chuva Parou (Ribamar / Esdras Pereira da Silva / Viсtor Freire)
09. Serenata (L. Anderson / Mitсhell Рarish / J. Рiante / Vrs. Othon Russo)
10. Não Sei Рorque (Сarrossel) (N. Ortiz / Vrs. Fernando César)
11. Não Me Culpe (Dolores Duran)
12. Tinha Que Ser (Fernando Сésar)

All this should be considered as an intro to another story taking place in another reality existing parallel to the one we believe is the one we are living in…

Stay tuned…
While it lasts,


Créditos: Pedro & 300 discos