Eugene D’Hellemmes e Sua Orquestra – Requebrando (1957)

Polydor LPN 2022

The French trombone and bass player, Eugène D’Hellemmes, whom we had the opportunity to enjoy in April this year, contrary to what FrankOliver would expect, has recorded another Brazil favoured LP (a 10′) for Polydor, one year before the previously presented one.
This release is also arranged by Maestro Waldemiro Lemke.

By the way, I checked on Google Translate for the meaning of the word “Requebrando” and got two different translations, depending on the language this word is translated from:

Translated from Spanish: “Making love to her”
Translated from Portuguese: “Twisting”

The compositions are:

1. A Chuva Caiu (Tom Jobim / Luiz Bonfá) Toada
2. A Festa de Dorinha (Sidney Morais) Samba
3. Nisei (Ângelo Apolônio ”Poly” / Juraci Rago) Baião
4. Gadu Namorando (Alcyr Pires Vermelho / Ladislau P. da Silva) Samba-choro
5. Rio É Amor (Bruno Marnet) Samba
6. Leva Saudade (Castro Perret / Osvaldo Silva) Baião
7. Insensato Coração (Antônio Maria / Paulo Soledade) Samba
8. Elegante (Altamiro Carrilho) Baião 


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

EUGENE D’HELLEMMES IN SOUTH AMERICA by Frank-Oliver: Eugene D’ Hellemmes came to South America during the second world war as a member of the Ray Ventura orchestra. This french orchestra, including the famous singer Henri Salvador, emigrated to South America from France and performed and recorded in Buenos Aires and Rio, often with spanish or portuguese vocals. After the war the orchestra returned to France. Some members stayed in South America. So does Eugene D`Hellemmes.

DOUBLE BASS by Stu Blagden:
Eugene played double bass for Django Reinhardt.

Na GafieIra E Assim (1958)


Another masterpiece brought to us all thanks to Pedro & 300discos. A samba para dançar album from ’58 featuring trombone player Eugène D’Hellemmes, accompanied by the Orquestra RGE with arrangements by Maestro Waldemiro Lemke and vocal soloists Mara Silva, Paul Moreno and Caco Velho.

As you might have guessed, the most pleasant surprise of this album are the two songs participation of Mara Silva, whose only career LP, Sucessos em Teleco-Teco is, from my point of view, one of the best samba recordings I have ever heard.

Altogether, a great release, consisting of these tracks:

01. Quero Um Samba (Wilson Batista / Waldemar Gomes) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
02. Estatutos de Gafieira (Billy Blanco) Raul Moreno
03. Gadu Namorando (Alcyr Pires Vermelho / Ladislau P. da Silva) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
04. Pano Legal (Billy Blanco) Mara Silva
05. Samba Maestro (Alcebíades Nogueira) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
06. Você Vem Aí (Luis de França / Gil Lima) Caco Velho
07. Música Maestro (Arlindo Marques Júnior / Roberto Roberti) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
08. Quem É o Dono do Baile (Cristóvão de Alencar / Alcebíades Nogueira) Raul Moreno
09. Saliente (Altamiro Carrilho / Armando Nunes) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
10. Falso Bailarino (Alcebíades Nogueira / Cristóvão de Alencar) Mara Silva
11. Galã de Gafieira (José Batista) Eugène D’Hellemmes & Orquestra RGE
12. Aquela Dama (Ari Frazão / Sebastião Figueiredo / Edelir Gameira) Caco Velho


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Eugène D’Hellemmes was a french trombone and bass player who often recorded in the company of Django Reinhardt in the 1930`s and 1940`s. It is a suprise to see him recording in Brazil in 1958.