Osmar Milani e Sua Orquestra – Bossa Nova das Americas (1963)

Fermata FB 55

Maestro Osmar Milani, the man whose name sounds very familiar to me, with his latest album which has been presented on Loronix almost a decade ago. This gives you a chance to read Zeca‘s text about it on Órfãos do Loronix.
There is also a background cover text about this release, but I fear that only the name of the writer, Juvenal Fernandes is clearly legible while his text is unfortunately not.

The compositions are clearly audible and their list goes as follows:

01. Balanço das Notas (João Maria de Abreu)
02. I Surrender Dear (G. Clifford / H. Barris)
03. Sambossa N° 1 (João Maria de Abreu)
04. Sophisticated Lady (Duke Ellington / Irving Mills / Mitchell Parish)
05. Na Cadência do Samba (Ataulfo Alves / Paulo Gesta)
06. Solitude (Duke Ellington / Irving Mills / Eddie DeLange)
07. Waltzing Cat (L. Anderson)
08. Neném (Tito Madi)
09. I’ll Buy The Ring And Chance Your Name To Mine (J. Mills / E. Rose / W. Raskin)
10. Samba da Madrugada (Dora Lopes / Carminha Mascarenhas / Herotides Nascimento)
11. Red Roses For A Blue Lady (Sid Tepper / Roy Brodszky)
12. Vai Minha Canção (Tito Madi / Sidney Morais)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Luis Arruda Paes e Osmar Milani e Sua Orquestra – Encontro Com A Musica (1955)

Odeon MODB 3024

The first career albums of both famous maestros: Luis Arruda Paes and Osmar Milani are actually placed on one side each of this 10′ Lp, released in 1955. The 4 compositions on side A are performed by Luis (with a little help of Zezinho da TV on two tracks) and the other 4 compositions on side B are by Osmar.

Also, the back cover presents two texts, one about Luis Arruda Paes and the other about Osmar Milani.

Lado A com Luis Arruda Paes:

1. Le Grisby (Jean Wiener) Fox – Pistão: Zezinho da TV
2. Senhorita (Tito Madi) Valsa
3. Que É Amor (Júlio Nagib) Samba-canção
4. Andalucia (Ernesto Lecuona) Beguine Pistão: Zezinho da TV

Lado B com Osmar Milani:

5. Puladinho (Osmar Milani) Choro
6. Cerisier Rose Et Pommier Blanc (Louiguy / Jacques Larue) Mambo
7. Brasil 2000 (Osmar Milani) Samba
8. Baião Chinês (Osmar Milani) Baião


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Hebe Camargo – Parada Musical Philco da Radio Excelsior (1952)

Gravado em 26 de março de 1952

Grande Orquestra G-9
Regência do Maestro Osmar Milani
Restauração realizada por Marcelo Spinola
Cover art by Edson Mendes

Last night I received from Edson Mendes a message and a file containing something extraordinary…

Here is the accompanying text written by Edson:

This non-commercial recording is a complete transcription of a program of Radio Excelsior from São Paulo, aired on 26/03/1952, in which Hebe Camargo, in her very beginning, was the main artist. At this time she was known as “A estrela de São Paulo“.

The recording was made by Radio Excelsior in a very unusual acetate, because it was greater than a regular Long Play. My friend Marcelo Spinola had to adapt his modern turntable in order to reach to play it and transcribe to digital format.

It’s a real pleasure to hear the recording, almost the same way the people heard the program sixty four years ago.

The only missing part is the radio Philco!

The concert:

01. Apresentação
02. Samba que eu quero ver (Djalma Ferreira / Mauro Pires)
03. Locução
04. Essa noite serenou (Hervê Cordovil)
05. Locução
06. Vamos à valsa (Norival Reis / Rutinaldo)
07. Locução
08. Teu regresso (Décio Cardoso)
09. Locução
10. Canção de Dalila (Victor Young – versão de Clímaco César)
11. Locução
12. Sinfonia do apartamento (Haroldo Barbosa)
13. Locução
14. Sinfonia do apartamento (replay) (Haroldo Barbosa)
15. Final

A ESTRELA DE SÃO PAULO + label scans

Créditos: Marcelo Spinola / Edson Mendes

Dancando com Osmar Milani (1958)

Copacabana CLP 11070


Osmar Milani
Franco e Severino (Sax alto)
Bolão e Orlando (Sax tenor)
Gerson (Sax barítono)
Paioleti, Geraldo, Expedito e Lelo (Piston)
Renato, Bin e Gilberto (Trombone)
Chiquinho (Piano)
Boneca (Baixo)
Ney (Bateria)
Gonçalves (Pandeiro)
Décio (Bongô)
Dinho (Ganzá)


01. Andalucia (Ernesto Lecuona)
02. Around The World (Victor Young / Harold Adamson)
03. 26 Miles (G. Larson / B. Belland)
04. Chances Are (Al Stillman / Robert Allen)
05. Let’s Beguine (Otto Cesana)
06. Esse É Nosso Choro (Duda)
07. Mocinho Bonito (Billy Blanco)
08. Wake Up Little Susie (Felice Bryant / Boudleaux Bryant)
09. Cha Cha Baby (Louis Rico)
10. Conversa de Pistons (Expedito de Carvalho)
11. Insônia (Mário Albanese / Heitor Carillo)
12. Moonglow (Irving Mills / Will Hudson / Eddie de Lange)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos 

Osmar Milani e Sua Orquestra – Baile dos Estados (1959)

Som SOLP 4.0045

Maestro Osmar Milani has been featured in this parallel reality on a joint venture with Morgana‘s Esta E Morgana, her first album, but so far not with a solo album although he has recorded at least 5.

The one presented tonight is his third, released by Copacabana, Beverley and Som.

All three edition’s cover scans and labels are included in the zip file.
The Som front cover looks best (from my point of view) and therefore I have used it for decorating this post.


01. No Rancho Fundo (Ary Barroso / Lamartine Babo)
02. Chinchilla (R. Starr / D. Wolf)
03. Piove (Domenico Modugno / Verde)
04. Sede de Amor (Mário Albanese)
05. Repouso Para Trombone (Osmar Milani)
06. Um Chorinho no Parque São Jorge (Salgado Filho / Celso Pixinga)
07. Bikini (J. Altwerger / S. Schlinger)
08. Vagalume (Setti)
09. Boola (R. Sweetwater)
10. Mine At Last (Otto Cesana)
11. Trombone Ginga (Osmar Milani)
12. Theme From (Bell Book And Candle) (George Dunning)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos 

Esta E Morgana (1958)

Copacabana CLP 11067

Morgana‘s first career album, recorded in 1958, accompanied by Osmar Milani and his orchestra. Actually, Morgana is singing only on eight tracks, while four are instrumentals performed by Osmar Milani.

The unsigned text on the back cover gives all relevant facts about Morgana‘s carrer before recording this first LP as well as comments about her music and included compositions:

01. Serenata do Adeus (Vinicius de Moraes) Morgana / Osmar Milani
02. Era Uma Vez (Lina Pesce) Morgana / Osmar Milani
03. André de Sapato Novo (André Victor Correia) Osmar Milani
04. Sombras Entre Nós (Hervé Cordovil / René Cordovil) Morgana / Osmar Milani
05. Dois Orgulhosos (Antônio Bruno) Morgana / Osmar Milani
06. Volta Ao Mundo (Around The World) (Victor Young / Harold Adamson / Vrs. Alberto Ribeiro) Osmar Milani
07. Conselho (Denis Brean / Osvaldo Guilherme) Morgana / Osmar Milani
08. Mais Brilho nas Estrelas (Aloísio Figueiredo / Nelson Figueiredo) Morgana / Osmar Milani
09. Solidão (Antônio Bruno) Osmar Milani
10. Porque Tu Me Feres (Gordurinha) Morgana / Osmar Milani
11. Amar Ou Não Amar (Antônio Bruno / Amauri Medeiros) Morgana / Osmar Milani
12. Mocinho Bonito (Billy Blanco) Osmar Milani


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos