Luiz Gonzaga – O Reino do Baiao (1957)

RCA Victor BPL 3055

The famous Luiz Gonzaga has been presented as composer In this parallel reality on a Rildo Hora tribute album: Rildo Hora Interpreta Luiz Gonzaga (1988),

Now we have a career album, his second of altogether (at least) 43, a 10′ LP released back in 1957 for RCA Victor.

Although I do not think that it is necessary to explain anything about such a well known figure, I will point to two texts about him on the back cover:

The first one, signed by Nerço Barbaio and the other signed by E. B. which is a feeble attempt to hide the identity of the writer, who can be no other than Elmo Barros, notorious for his authorship of linear notes printed on RCA Victor releases.

The Baiãos are:

1. Forró No Escuro (Luiz Gonzaga)
2. Moça de Feira (Armando Nunes / J. Portela)
3. Sertão Sofredor (Nelson Barbalho / Joaquim Augusto)
4. Xote das Moças (Nelson Barbalho / Joaquim Augusto)
5. O Delegado no Coco (Zé Dantas)
6. Gibão de Couro (Luiz Gonzaga)
7. Comício Do Mato (Joaquim Augusto / Nelson Barbalho)
8. Meu Pajeú (Luiz Gonzaga / Raimundo Granjeiro)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Rildo Hora Interpreta Luiz Gonzaga (1988)

RCA Victor 103.0736

Gaita player Rildo Hora we have encountered several times in another reality. Here he is again, performing compositions by Luiz Gonzaga.

The musicians are:

Rildo Hora (Gaita)
Chiquinho do Acordeom
Durval, Cidinho e Jorginho (Percussão)
Fernando Pereira (Bateria)
Luisão (Baixo)
José Carlos (Viola caipira, Guitarra)
Neco (Violão)

Arranjos e Regências: Rildo Hora

The compositions presented:

01. Asa Branca (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
      Assum Preto (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)

02. Fuga da África (Luiz Gonzaga)

03. Xote das Meninas (Luiz Gonzaga / Zé Dantas)
      Cintura Fina (Luiz Gonzaga / Zé Dantas)

04. Qui Nem Jiló (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
      Xanduzinha (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)

05. A Vida do Viajante (Luiz Gonzaga / Hervé Cordovil)
      A Volta da Asa Branca (Luiz Gonzaga / Zé Dantas)

06. Baião (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
      A Dança Da Moda (Luiz Gonzaga / Zé Dantas)

07. Xaxado (Luiz Gonzaga / Hervé Cordovil)
      Baião da Garoa (Luiz Gonzaga / Hervé Cordovil)

08. Respeita Januário (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
      No Meu Pé de Serra (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)

09. Forró No Escuro (Luiz Gonzaga)
      Vem Morena (Luiz Gonzaga / Zé Dantas)

10. Lorota Boa (Luiz Gonzaga / Humberto Teixeira)
      Impertinente (Luiz Gonzaga)

Créditos: Pedro & 300discos