Lucien Studart – Ecos do Carnaval (1957)

Sinter SLP 1095

You may wonder, as I did, who the mysterious piano player Lucian (Lucien) Studart might be but, apart from the dilemma if it is Lucian (as written on the sleeve) or Lucien (as printed on the labels),  it is quite simple: Lucien Studart is the original name (or alias) of our old mafioso friend José “Lucky” Luciano whose several career albums you may find displayed in this parallel reality.

Anyway, as Lucien Studart, Lucian has released several recordings in the year 1957, after which he, or his producer, decided to switch the name to the crisp sounding Al Pacino type, namely José Luciano.

The two medleys on this 10′ Lp are presented in the archive as two uninterrupted tracks, as well as 12 individual ones:

Lado A Medley 1:
01. Império do Samba (Zé da Zilda / Zilda do Zé)
02. Leva Meu Samba (Ataulfo Alves)
03. Mundo de Zinco (Wilson Batista / Antônio Nássara)
04. A Fonte Secou (Monsueto / Tufic Lauar / Marcléo)
05. Ai Que Saudades da Amélia (Ataulfo Alves / Mário Lago)
06. Está Chegando A Hora (Tradicional)

Lado B Medley 2:

07. Meu Consolo É Você (Antônio Nássara / Roberto Martins)
08. Não Me Diga Adeus (Paquito/Luis Soberano / João Correia da Silva)
09. Carmelito (Caminito) (Juan de Dios Filiberto / Gabino Coria Peñaloza / Vrs. Henricão / Vrs. Rubens Campos)
10. Cai Cai (Roberto Martins)
11. Helena, Helena (Antônio Almeida / Constantino Silva “Secundino”)
12. Casado Não Pode (Rutinaldo / Alcebíades Nogueira)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Abel e Seu Conjunto – Jantar Dancante No 2 (1959)

Copacabana CLP 11109

Famous clarinet and sax player Abel Ferreira was featured on Parallel Realities several times, but only playing alongside with others.
Finally I have the opportunity to present a career album, out of (at least) eleven he has released.
By the way, this Lp was posted on Vinyl Maniac’s blog several years ago, but as another rip.

The list of musicians is:

Abel Ferreira: Clarinete, Saxofone
José Luciano: Piano
José Menezes e Waltel Branco: Guitarra
Jorge Marinho: Contrabaixo
Toco Preto: Cavaquinho
Plinio e Paulinho Magalhães: Bateria
Geraldo Barbosa, Mestre Marçal e Julio Braz

Playing these compositions:

01. Lamento (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Antônio)
      Chega de Saudade (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
02. Siete Notas de Amor (Santiago Alvarado)
      Veneno (Poly / Henrique Lobo)
03. Till (Carl Sigman / Charles Danvers)
      All The Way (Jimmy Van Heusen / Sammy Cahn)
04. Cabeça Inchada (Hervé Cordovil)
      Maringá (Joubert de Carvalho)
05. Recado (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Antônio)
06. Samba de Teleco-teco (João Roberto Kelly)
07. No Tabuleiro da Baiana (Ary Barroso)
08. O Apito no Samba (Luiz Bandeira / Luis Antônio)
09. Copacabana (João de Barro / Alberto Ribeiro)
10. Evocação (Nelson Ferreira)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Jose Luciano, Seu Piano e Seu Ritmo (1957)

Copacabana CLP 11007

The new package sent by Pedro & 300discos has arrived a short time ago and I picked out of it a long sought album (won’t tell you which, as not to add my frustration to you) only to run into the Polar Bear protection on Depositfiles after uploading it.

Sorry, but it happens occasionally…

Instead, I quickly picked up another one, recorded by our dear mafioso siciliano  José Luciano, about which I won’t have to write a word at this late hour, as Zecalouro has already done it and you may read his text, covering also the front cover controversy, on the usual place where his texts are reprinted: On Órfãos do Loronix.

While asking yourself what album was rejected by Depositfiles, calm down by listening to:

01. Tarde Demais (José Luciano)
02. Conceição (Jair Amorim / Valdemar de Abreu “Dunga”)
03. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing (Paul Francis Webster / Sammy Fain)
04. Pois É (Ataulfo Alves)
05. Crepúsculo de Amor (Vicente Paiva / Lita Rodrigues)
06. Teus Olhos Entendem os Meus (Haroldo Eiras / Victor Berbara)
07. Brasília (José Luciano / Mário Flávio)
      Amar Outra Vez (M. Stoloff / G. Sidney)
08. Quintandinha (Djalma Ferreira)
09. So In Love (Cole Porter)
10. Canção da Volta (Ismael Netto / Antônio Maria)
11. Dancing In The Dark (Howard Dietz / Arthur Schwartz)
12. Dó-Ré-Mi (Fernando César)
13. Sinfonia Verde E Amarelo (Pernambuco)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Jose Luciano – Outros Sambas (1956)

Mocambo LP 10015

Another rarity, released as a 10′ LP for Mocambo, back in 1956.


1. Algodão (Custódio Mesquita / David Nasser)
2. Nunca (Lupicínio Rodrigues)
3. Ponto Final (José Maria de Abreu / Jair Amorim)
4. Isso É Brasil (José Maria de Abreu / Luis Peixoto)
5. Terra Seca (Ary Barroso)
6. Um Cantinho e Você (José Maria de Abreu / Jair Amorim)
7. Nova Ilusão (José Menezes / Luis Bittencourt)
8. Exaltação à Bahia (Vicente Paiva / Chianca de Garcia)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Jose Luciano, Seu Piano e Ritmo – Sambas (1955)

Mocambo LP 10004

This 10′ LP by José Luciano has been posted on Loronix and the Loronix copy was re-posted on Parallel Realities in November 2011.
I just checked and found out that the link has expired.
Now I find it in the newest package sent by Pedro & 300discos and use this opportunity to re-new the download link, but this time as a transfer by Pedro with all the covers and label scans.

Enjoy the new old tracks:

1. Risque (Ary Barroso)
2. Nem Eu (Dorival Caymmi)
3. Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa / Vadico)
4. Carinhoso (Pixinguinha / João de Barro)
5. Aquarela do Brasil (Ary Barroso)
6. Palpite Infeliz (Noel Rosa)
7. De Cigarro Em Cigarro (Luiz Bonfá)
8. Copacabana (João de Barro / Alberto Ribeiro)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Jose Luciano (1955)

Mocambo LP 10006

Once more a 10′ inch LP (my preferred format) released by Mocambo.
This time it is again our old friend since the Loronix days, piano (and rhythm) player José Luciano.

The time travel to 1955 consists of:

1. Rio Antigo (Altamiro Carrilho)
2. Tenderly (Walter Gross / Jack Lawrence)
3. Canta Brasil (Alcyr Pires Vermelho / David Nasser)
4. Mambo En España (Ramon Marquez)
5. Passarinhando (José Luciano)
6. Sous Le Ciel de Paris (Hubert Giraud / Jean Drejac)
7. Perdão (César Cruz)
8. Hello Bluebird (Cliff Friend)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos

Jose Luciano, Seu Piano e Seu Ritmo No 3 (1959)

Copacabana CLP 11076

Piano player and composer José Luciano who has been initially introduced to the time travellers by Loronix, then later re-posted in other realities, strikes again with his LP from ’59.

The compositions performed in 1959 are:

01. A Voz do Morro (Zé Keti)
02. Eu, O Luar E Você (Sivan Castelo Neto)
03. El Cumbanchero (Rafael Hernandez)
04. Na Baixa do Sapateiro (Ary Barroso)
05. Temptation (Nacio Herb Brown / Arthur Freed)
06. Gorgeando (Ênio Barbosa)
07. Um Jardim Cor de Rosa (Marisa Gomes / Elias Ramos)
08. Novillero (Maria Teresa Lara)
09. Rosa Caida (Newton Rodrigues / Edel Ney)
10. Balanceado (José Luciano)
11. Caravan (Duke Ellington / Irving Mills / Juan Tizol)
12. Night And Day (Cole Porter)


Créditos: Pedro & 300discos